Tryouts & Practice

Tryouts
To inquire about potential roster availability, contact Director of Youth Soccer, Lee Kellett at lee@gjoa.org
 
Training Calendar
 
SC Gjøa Youth Soccer holds practice sessions in a number of locations around South Brooklyn including the Parade Grounds, Red Hook Fields, Dyker Beach Park, Leif Ericson Park and more. Typically, Travel teams practice twice a week outdoors in fall and spring, and once a week indoors in winter. Premier teams practice three times a week in fall and spring, and twice a week in winter. The Gjøa Youth Development Program (professional coaching without league games) is held once a week in fall and spring.
 
Here are important dates for 2018/2019:

Wed and Thu, September 5 and 6: Travel and Premier practice schedules begin.


Mon and Tue , September 10 and 11: 
Rosh Hashanah - all practice sessions are ON for those that can attend.


Wednesday, September 19: 
Yom Kippur - all practice sessions are ON for those that can attend.


Monday, October 8: 
Columbus Day - no practices.


Wednesday, October 31: 
Halloween - all practice sessions are ON for those that can attend.


Monday, November 5: practices move indoors (tentative, Coach or Team Admins will confirm).


Tuesday, November 6: 
Election Day - all practice sessions are ON for those that can attend.


Thursday and Friday, November 22 and 23: 
Thanksgiving - no practices.


Monday, December 24 through Monday, January 1: 
Holiday Recess - no practices. Resume Tuesday, January 2.


Monday, January 21: 
MLK Day - all practice sessions are ON for those that can attend.


Monday, February 18 through Friday, February 22: 
Midwinter Recess - no practices. Resume Monday, February 25.


Monday, March 11: practices move outdoors (tentative, Coach or Team Admins will confirm)


Friday, April 19 through Friday, April 26: Spring Recess - no practices. Resume Monday, April 29

Monday, May 27: Memorial Day - no practices.

Monday, June 3: Eid al-Fitr - all practice sessions are ON for those that can attend.


Wed, Thu and Fri, June 12, 13 and 14: last practice dates for spring 2018 (tentative, Coach or Team Admins will confirm).


This schedule is subject to change. Please check back here and on our home page for changes and cancellations.